With the length of 2,850 kilometres the Danube is the second longest river in Europe. Originating in the Black Forest in central Europe it runs south-eastwards across ten countries with four other countries in its basin to reach the Black Sea. There are 89 cities, 342 bridges and 62 dams along the river. The Danube area covers about one fifth of the area of the European Union with about 115 million inhabitants. Capital cities along the Danube river: Vienna – Bratislava – Budapest – Belgrade.

About the Strategy

To strengthen regionality in general and to give complex answers tot he challenges of the region including mobility, connectivity and coordiation of different policies (e.g. education, research and innovation) and environmental protection the European Union has adopted a macro-regional strategy of the Danube Region on 24 June 2011 which is the second of its kind following the Baltic Sea Region Strategy in 2009.

Participating countries of the EUSDR

EU member states:
Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia

Non-EU member states:
Bosnia-Herzegovina, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia, Ukraine

Priority Areas:
The Danube Region Strategy addresses a wide range of issues; these are divided among 4 pillars and 12 priority areas. Each priority area is managed by two countries as Priority Area Coordinators (PACs).

PA 1A Waterways Mobility

PA 1B Rail-Road-Air Mobility

PA 2 Sustainable Energy

PA 3 Culture & Tourism

PA 4 Water Quality

PA 5 Environmental Risks

  PA 6   Biodiversity, Landscapes and Air & Soil Quality

PA 7 Knowledge Society

PA 8 Competitiveness of Enterprises

PA 9 People & Skills

PA 10 Institutional Capacity & Cooperation

PA 11 Security

More info:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email